Atheism, British Government, Christianity, Religion, UK politics

The Godless Race

I am rather occupied with politics all year round, by my own accord I might add, but even I get a headache leading up to an election. At the same time I get to laugh at the utter stupidity of the Ted Cruz nomination in the US, I also get to listen to David Cameron drone on about a “Greater Britain”. I keep hoping he will say “it will be great if twats like me piss off”, alas, he won’t.

Hearing the same arguments & scaremongering over and over is tiresome, maybe even a little futile if you believe the “nothing really changes” rhetoric, which I don’t. Each day a new point being made, a new position to be haggled over. Personal attacks are thrown around as fair game. The constant admission of “hard decisions” that need to be made, yet I never saw the PM look skinny due to under-eating. We must accept that the PM makes the tough decisions and the people live with the aftermath of those decisions – I guess that is life.

On top of all the nonsense and boring statistical white lies, I constantly find myself heaving a sigh of relief regarding the complete silence of god.

Luckily for me and my country I can sit back and watch with complete indifference the show that is U.S. politics. Politicians having to claim they believe in silly stories like Noah’s Ark, even though there is no evidence such story ever occurred – and plenty to say it never. Senators who swear that climate change is a hoax or still up for debate, even though the debate has been had by scientists and they all agree – It exists, its current form is due to human involvement – the debate is over. Every speech includes ‘our friends in Israel’ or ‘God as my witness’ or ‘as a Christian’ – What the fuck does this have to do with a secular policy in a secular nation?

Gladly, the UK race is godless (for the minute). Cameron doesn’t have to pander to the lunatics & low information voters regarding god, although he does regarding immigration. Ed Miliband refuses to mention his personal beliefs at every turn; people in the U.S. must wonder how on earth he makes his policy ideas without asking an invisible man.

George Bush Jr told us he asked god if he should go into Iraq, regardless of your position, we can hardly say god gave the right advice can we?

Either way, I get what I want. I can watch the witless politics of the U.S. with a smile of astonishment, whilst banging my head against the wall at the childlike attempts of gaining followers by the U.K. politicians.

At the end of the day I am happy that my guys are basing their judgements on Realpolitik, on statistics (which favour themselves obviously) and on what they feel is best for the country and their interests. At no point am I bombarded with claims of god being on their side, or even slight nods to one (true) religious sect.

That I am proud of. Let is keep it that way; there is enough bullshit in the news as it is to include religious fairy-tales.

Standard

Leave a Reply

